Fish Stew with Coconut Milk and Cilantro

Fish Stew with Coconut Milk and Cilantrofish_stew

This is a wonderfully thick fish stew, and always a crowd pleaser.

2 Tbs coconut oil

1 lb fish (halibut, sole, wild salmon, or a combination)

1 large can diced tomatoes (or fresh — ripe tomatoes if available)

1 green pepper, diced

1 red pepper, diced

1 onion, diced

1 lemon, juiced

1 tsp sea salt

2 garlic cloves, crushed

1 14oz can coconut milk

4 oz organic chicken or vegetable broth

1/2 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

1. Cook the fish gently with ½ of the olive oil, 2-3 minutes per side, in a shallow pan.

2. In a separate stew pot, sauté until tender with remaining olive oil the tomatoes, peppers, and onion.

3. Add the fish to the stew pot and gently break into pieces and mix with the vegetables. Add in the lemon juice, salt, garlic and coconut milk.

4. Simmer gently for 15-20 minutes, adding chicken or vegetable broth as desired to bring stew to desired consistency. Just before serving, turn off heat and add cilantro.

Had a friend coming over for lunch and so I wanted to make something quick and easy since I only had less than an 1/2 hour to throw lunch together. 
For the fish, I used Rockfish, because it was the only fish they were selling at Whole Foods that was fresh and wild.  If you want more information on how to buy fish, click here. 
I wanted to boost the vegetable content, of course, and so I added some shredded cabbage and if I had more time I would have added kale too.  Instead of adding salt at the end, I learned in chef school you want to season in layers…so I salted and peppered each time I added a vegetable to the skillet. I also salted and peppered both sides of the fish as it cooked.
First, I sautéed the onions, since they take the longest,  added the cabbage after a few minutes as the onions softened and finally the peppers.  I cooked the fish in the same skillet and then transferred everything to a soup pan.
It turned out really good and now I have leftovers for dinner tomorrow!  Let me know if you try the recipe and any delicious variations you create! 
 
If you have not subscribed yet, please do at the right side of this column.  I also love your comments!
2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by rich on January 5, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Is the 1 oz can of coconut milk correct? 1 oz.??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

