Chili for a Crowd

My husband had a group of people over to promote the new Windows 7  and to watch Monday night football.  We were gone for the weekend in Victoria and so I had no time to prepare, let alone cook anything fancy.

When cooking for a crowd I love to make chili, since it is such an easy, delicious one pot meal.  Generally, most people like chili and if you have vegetarians coming over you can make a pot with meat and one without. Either way you should  load it with vegetables and beans, so it is packed with nutrition as well as tasting great.

I found this incredible chili mix I turn all my clients on to when I take them grocery shopping.  It makes fixing chili so easy and it tastes homemade.  It is called Texas Two-Step Chili Mix by Cookwell & Company.  It is always a staple in my pantry and I stock up when ever Whole Foods has it on sale.chili  Always make a big batch so you have leftovers for the next few days for lunches or it freezes well for future uses.

Buy a pound of meat ( I used ground turkey, but you can use ground chicken, buffalo, ostridge or beef) and brown it with diced onion.  I added chopped carrots, sweet peppers, zucchini and corn as well as a can of pinto, kidney and black beans.  Pour the mix sauce over it and let it simmer until it gets hot.

I served it with grated cheese, guacamole, corn and rice chips, corn bread (also from a mix) and a big salad.  People loved it and I made it in less than 30 minutes before they got here.

What are your favorite things to add to chili?

Leave a Reply

