Cookies made out of greens….

I got this recipe for “treats” made out of greens from a website called Weelicious.  Supposedly they are so good, kids just gobble these up like cookies and are fooled by the shape…. I actually thought they were very good with some of my modifications.  However my younger son took one small bite and said he did not like them.  For some kids it might be an easy way to get them to eat their greens!

Wendy Schnitzer, the Fit Food Coach

Wendy Schnitzer, the Fit Food Coach

 

 

 

Green Treats

Recipe By     :  Weelicious
Serving Size  : 12     
   1                    Large Bunch of Swiss Chard, stems
                        — removed and chopped 

   2                    Eggs, whisked

   1      cup           White or Whole Wheat Matzo Meal (whole
                        — wheat or plain-breadcrumbs will work too)

   1      tsp           Salt

   1/2  tsp           Garlic Powder

   1      Tbs           Sesame Seeds

                        Oil for Cooking

1. Cook the chard in a steamer pot of boiling water for 6-8 minutes or until
tender.

2. Chop the chard very fine.

3. Place all the ingredients, except the oil, in a bowl and combine
thoroughly.

4. Using your hands, form into small patties.

5. Heat about 1 tbsp of oil in a saute pan over medium heat.

6. Cook the patties for 3 minutes on each side or until golden.

7. Serve.

                   – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I decided to saute the swiss chard, rather than steam it to add flavor and much easier than steaming.  I chopped the chard up coarsely and sauted it in olive oil for about 5 minutes until it had softened.  I then put it in a mixing bowl and  took my kitchen scissors and cut it up until it was very fine. (technique I learned in chef school).  I substituted oat bran for the breadcrumbs thinking it would be healthier, about 1 tablespoon more of sesame seeds for added crunch and fresh minced garlic instead of the garlic powder.

I used coconut oil to fry them up, because it has a higher heat point than olive oil and I wanted them to be brown and crispy.  Since coconut oil has so many healthful properties  (click on healthful properties to see all the health benefits), I try to use it as often as possible when I cook.

I thought they turned out really good and now I have a quick easy-to -grab high protein and veggie snack.  I imagine they will taste good too cold.

I bet you could substitute spinach for the chard and it would taste great! If you make these, let me know what you think and if you tried any variations!

Leave a Reply

