Super Healthy Chocolate Fudge – Is there such a thing?

Wendy Schnitzer, the Fit Food Coach

Wendy Schnitzer, the Fit Food Coach

As a very health-conscious person, I try to stay away from frequent baking. I’ve found it leads to frequent over-eating as I seem to have zero self-control when it comes to sugar and chocolate – it’s safer to steer clear altogether. At least until I found this fantastic healthy chocolate nut fudge recipe from Kat Eden at Body Incredible.  Below are a few changes I would do to make it even better!

Super-Healthy Chocolate Fudge Recipe

 * 1 cup full-fat organic coconut milk
 * 6 oz organic dark chocolate 
 * A few hefty tablespoons of your preferred nut butter like almond or cashew
 * 1 cup dried goji berries ( Dried cranberries or raisins are okay, although not quite as health-affirming)
 * 5 flat tablespoons non-wheat flour like chickpea or buckwheat
 * 2 rounded tablespoons almond or hazelnut meal 
 * A dash of vanilla essence
 * Stevia to sweeten (a herb with up to several hundred times the sweetness of sugar, and with no effect
  — on your blood sugar levels – find it in any health food/organic store)

1. Add the coconut milk and vanilla essence to a small saucepan. Keep the
heat low, and stir frequently. Gradually add the chocolate (broken up into
small-medium pieces), and keep stirring as you add the nut butter and
stevia.

2. Once you have a smooth mixture, add the remainder of the ingredients, and
stir until they are well mixed through. Hey presto, you’re done! Now, simply
spoon the mixture onto a platter (use waxed paper over the platter), and pop
it in the fridge until cool. Keep covered to avoid fudge-thieves, and also
to stop it drying out.

I used chickpea flour because it is super high in protein and gluten free, but I bet quinoa or amaranth would be good too.  I did not like the consistency or the flavor of the goji berries in the fudge.  However,they are extremely high in antioxidants, have over 21 trace minerals, more beta carotene than carrots and 500X more vitamin C than oranges, so you might try adding them and see what you think.  Next time I make it I will try adding cacao nibs or toasted chopped nuts instead.

Other than the goji berries I thought it was quite good and a great high protein dessert or snack.  Just be careful – it was hard to eat just one piece!

If you try making it, let me know what you thought and any variations or additions you used.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    Reply

  2. Sweet recipe – thanks for re-posting w/ your modifications. I’ve just started a blog dedicated to educating everyday people about better health and fitness through good nutrition and regular exercise – http://www.FITfoodBlog.com. I will most definitely be referencing sites like yours and recipes like this one, and please feel free to do the same!

    I’m thinking I’ll be able to try this out later this week, and I’m definitely going with your final suggestion on trying chopped nuts. I’m wondering if oat flour will work as the “non-wheat” substitute? Right now that’s all I have in the house… or maybe some almond meal?

    -Dan
    The FITfoodBlog Guy

    Reply

  3. Just wanted to follow-up with the link to my go at this recipe – http://www.fitfoodblog.com/2009/12/18/build-it-better-fudge/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

