What’s up for dinner..lamb burgers

It is tough to figure out what to make for dinner every night isn’t it?  You would think as a Fit Food Coach it would be easier for me, but I have a tough crowd at home and I hate making the same thing twice.

My goal is to make fast easy recipes that only take about 20 mintues to make. So join me as I try different recipes and products and show you how to “doctor” the recipes so they taste great and are healthy for you.

Tonight I made Lamb Burgers with Fennel Salad.  I have been getting some wonderful grass-fed lamb from my local farmers market and so I was looking for some quick easy ways to use it…..this recipe was from Cooking Light Magazine, July 2002

Lamb Burgers with Fennel Salad

Serving Size  : 8
Salad:
2      cups          thinly sliced fennel bulb (about 1 8 oz bulb)
1/2  cup           fat-free sour cream
1/2  cup           plain fat-free yogurt
1/4  cup           finely chopped red onion
2      Tbs           chopped fresh mint
1      Tbs           grated lemon rind
1      Tbs           honey
1/4  tsp           salt
1/4  tsp           black pepper
1                    garlic clove, minced

Burgers:
1/2  cup           (2 ounces) crumbled feta cheese with basil  and garlic
1/4  cup           chopped pimiento-stuffed olives
2      Tbs           Greek seasoning (such as McCormick)
1/4  tsp           salt
1      lb            lean ground lamb
1      lb            ground turkey breast
Cooking spray
4                    (6-inch) pita, cut in half

1. Prepare grill or broiler.

2. To prepare salad, combine first 10 ingredients (fennel through garlic).

3. To prepare burgers, combine cheese and next 5 ingredients (cheese through
turkey) in a large bowl. Divide mixture into 8 equal portions, shaping each
into a 1/2-inch-thick patty.

4. Place patties on a grill rack or broiler pan coated with cooking spray;
cook 4 minutes on each side or until done.

5. Cut patties in half. Place 2 patty halves and 1/4 cup salad in each pita
half.

For the salad I substituted…

  • 2 small bulbs of fennel – bigger ones can sometimes be less flavorful
  • 1 cup of plain whole milk yogurt to replace the sour cream and fat free yogurt
  • 1 small red onion – probably a little more than 1/4 cup but why measure?
  • raw honey ( pasterized honey has no nutrients left)
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt and 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 2 cloves of garlic

For the burgers I substituted…

  • plain sheep’s milk feta from  Pastures of Eden (great taste and not very expensive – get it at whole foods or trader joes)
  • left out the olives because my family won’t eat them, but would have used the kalamata ones instead
  • 2 tablespoons of oregano instead of the Greek seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon of sea salt
  • extra virgin olive oil instead of cooking spray

My family really enjoyed the burgers – I just stuck them on Rudi’s Organic white hamburger buns instead of pita for my family and I had mine plain next to my salad.  The salad was just OK – the sauce was so so even with my embellishments.  Next time I would try fresh parsley instead of the mint and less or no honey. Fennel is a nice change from cucumbers and great for your digestion.

I have a new favorite yogurt I want to let you know about…Grace Harbor Farms sells a plain, non homogenized, cream on the top yogurt that is to die for!  My favorite breakfast or afternoon treat is to have it with my Go Raw granola.  I used it in the recipe above to replace the fat free yogurt and sour cream.

If you try the recipe let me know what you think. Send me any recipes you need help “doctoring” to make it more healthy!

For the most current information on nutrition, mental and physical fitness check out my website at www.thehealthylifestylecoonsultant.com

Leave a Reply

